nüvi 205

Discussions and information on Personal Navigation Device (PND) and hand-held GPS devices.

Moderators: Moderators, Regional Mappers

Forum rules
1. Be nice to each other and respect the moderators. Post in normal font size, color and weight. Follow Nettiquette
2. NO out of topic. Discuss about GPS device only
3. NO abuse, profanity and insults
4. NO spamming, cross posting and opening of duplicate topics
5. NO advertisement post or link
6. NO post/link to warez, cracks, serials or illegally obtained copyrighted content
7. Each message posted is owned by and is the opinion of the original poster. Neither mfm nor its owner or moderators are legally responsible for anything posted on the forum
minlee20
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 1:19 am

Garmin 205 does not display Malaysia map

Postby minlee20 » Sat Nov 07, 2009 9:42 pm

Hi

Im in the Uk at the moment, and will be going to KK next month.

I have recently downloaded the Malaysias map and installed it on my Garmin 205. The problem is when I turn it on I cant seem to see the malaysia's map. Is this because Im in the UK, and I will only be able to see the malaysia's map when Im in KK? or is it because theres an error when I uploaded the map to my Garmin 205?

Please help, I wanted to make sure that the Garmin 205 will be able to work in KK when I go there next month, is there anyway of checking this when Im in the UK?


Thanks

User avatar
zamad
Valued Contributor
Posts: 2311
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:50 am
Location: Shah Alam

Re: Garmin 205 does not display Malaysia map

Postby zamad » Sat Nov 07, 2009 10:00 pm

Hi minlee. Welcome to mfm.

    (1) If you have the gmapbmap.img (the basemap) preinstalled, you can zoom out (ie press the '-' icon) and scroll/pan until you 'reach' Malaysia, or KK for that matter. Press the '+' icon to zoom in and you should see the detailed map, or
    (2) Type in these coordinates: N5 58 40.6 E116 04 31.6 for KK, or
    (3) Use the search facility. Country = Malaysia (or malfreemaps.com), City = Kota Kinabalu.

I'm pretty sure it'll work in Malaysia. My unit is the US unit and it has been good to me. O:)
mfm : magnificent free maps
Garmin nüvi 2575RLM v2.80, Garmin 60CSx v4.00, Garmin nüvi 205W(patched), Papago R5800 X8.5, Qstarz Q1000P (Datalogger)
Retired: GMXT Palm T|X, nuvifone A10 v5.0.77, Garmin-Asus G60 v2.43, GPSlim236 (Datalogger)

User avatar
piju
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 6:38 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 205

Postby piju » Fri Jan 29, 2010 7:35 pm

zamad wrote:Ooh baby, you've lost your way again.... Let me get you back on the right track. I can't remember where I got it from, but here it is anyway.


i think i already have sexier voice than yours
http://9m2pju.blogspot.com

zenous
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 10:14 am

need help

Postby zenous » Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:46 pm

hi...
1st of all
i would like to introduce my self
may name is ridwan
currently got a small project on a gps map from a lecturer
but i dont have any idea what software needed

ive tried to google it
but still have a prob to understand it...

i need help on what software needed to create a small gps map
currently using garmin nuvi 205W

shakyhand
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:30 pm

Re: Nuvi 205

Postby shakyhand » Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:19 am

Help... I saw somewhere in MFM, there is a hidden routing/track function for nuvi 205... but can't find it, somebody help ](*,)

User avatar
dvpro
Moderator
Posts: 2170
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 6:09 am
Location: KUL, MY (Handheld, PDA Based)

Re: Nuvi 205

Postby dvpro » Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:39 am

shakyhand wrote:Help... I saw somewhere in MFM, there is a hidden routing/track function for nuvi 205... but can't find it, somebody help ](*,)

Here: How to activate hidden tracklog feature on Nuvi 2x5/7x5
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

ps89
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 6:54 pm

Re: Nuvi 205

Postby ps89 » Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:16 pm

Hello. I have a Nuvi 205 Sing/Mal version. Is it possible to delete the JCV folder since this model doesn't support junction view? The files are taking up a lot of space. Thanks.

User avatar
dvpro
Moderator
Posts: 2170
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 6:09 am
Location: KUL, MY (Handheld, PDA Based)

Re: Nuvi 205

Postby dvpro » Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:04 pm

Yes, you should remove it from Nuvi and maybe back it up in PC.
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

Kiattz
Contributor
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 10:04 pm

My Nuvi 205 Dead last night!!!

Postby Kiattz » Mon Mar 29, 2010 1:48 pm

CAN'T POWER ON NOW!!! :frus:
All Sifu here Pls help me how to make it (lost all POI) :cry: :prayer:

Yesterday afternoon track 11 Taman to correct,collect road name and POI in Nibong Tebal area. :ko:
(Taman Ilmo,Taman Pekaka,Taman Golden Jade,Taman Tempua,Taman Buntar Indah
,Taman Kit Siong,Taman Selesa,Taman Rantau Damai,Taman Seri Emas,Taman Minamah,Taman Fajar Indah)


when goto dinner at Lebuh Kimberley PG. =P~
collect food POI there then power off my nuvi (makan dulu) after makan power on my nuvi :x why my nuvi can't on & charging... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

User avatar
cwyap
Valued Contributor
Posts: 221
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 8:56 pm
Location: N3 09.008 E101 42.518
Contact:

Re: My Nuvi 205 Dead last night!!!

Postby cwyap » Mon Mar 29, 2010 1:54 pm

Sorry to hear about your Nuvi 205; it's a good work horse.

Have you tried connecting it using USB cable to your PC? If you have MapSource, perhaps you can retrieve the data from the Nuvi 205 to MapSource and save the same accordingly.

If you don't have MapSource, maybe you can use Windows Explorer to grab everything from your Nuvi 205 and save the data in your hard disk. Send the Nuvi 205 for repair (unless it's just a power glitch) and thereafter reload everything back.
Courage is not living without fear.
Courage is being scared to death and doing the right thing anyway.
- Chae Richardson


Return to “GPS Devices”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests