How to use Garmin Mapsource

Guides, FAQs, How-to, etc

Moderators: Moderators, Regional Mappers

Forum rules
1. Be nice to each other and respect the moderators. Post in normal font size, color and weight. Follow Nettiquette
2. NO out of topic. Discuss matters pertaining MFM community and forum only.
3. NO abuse, profanity and insults
4. NO spamming, cross posting and opening of duplicate topics
5. NO advertisement post or link
6. NO post/link to warez, cracks, serials or illegally obtained copyrighted content
7. Each message posted is owned by and is the opinion of the original poster. Neither mfm nor its owner or moderators are legally responsible for anything posted on the forum
User avatar
alyem
Regional Mapper
Posts: 2139
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 2:23 pm
Location: K. Lumpur (Nuvi 710, Legend Hcx) and Oregon 300

Re: How to use Garmin Mapsource

Postby alyem » Thu Nov 12, 2009 10:22 pm

May be you have delete the POI file too... :mrgreen:
73, 9w2yyl
You need the MAP, We need your TRACK

epi
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1694
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:13 pm
Location: Singapore

Re: How to use Garmin Mapsource

Postby epi » Fri Nov 13, 2009 11:00 am

alyem wrote:May be you have delete the POI file too... :mrgreen:

You are right.
This time I have tried by removing all SRTM files plus those deemed to be unnecessary files as well but keeping all Pois files instead. It work.
Thanks for all your reply and helpful advices.
Thanks.

hazz1925
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 6:14 pm
Location: Nuvi 205w

Re: How to use Garmin Mapsource

Postby hazz1925 » Thu Dec 10, 2009 3:34 am

Hi everyone......just want to ask.....
How to import routes from Garmin device?
:tq:
:rox:

User avatar
silverbeauty
Moderator
Posts: 3514
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:29 pm
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra Garmin Nüvi1350, 3790T, Fenix, eTrex HcX Panasonic ICE+Garmin Samsung Note3 Apple iPad3

Re: How to use Garmin Mapsource

Postby silverbeauty » Thu Dec 10, 2009 8:00 am

hazz1925 wrote:Hi everyone......just want to ask.....
How to import routes from Garmin device?
:tq:
:rox:



To import or export routes, Nuvi must support this feature. Models such as 765 have this feature.

On handhelds, just run mapsource, hook up your device and select from mapsource pull down menu, "Transfer - Receive from Device". The tracks should be transferred.

To view, select the Routes / Tracks on left hand side menu.

hazz1925
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 6:14 pm
Location: Nuvi 205w

Re: How to use Garmin Mapsource

Postby hazz1925 » Thu Dec 10, 2009 8:33 pm

silverbeauty wrote:
To import or export routes, Nuvi must support this feature. Models such as 765 have this feature.

On handhelds, just run mapsource, hook up your device and select from mapsource pull down menu, "Transfer - Receive from Device". The tracks should be transferred.

To view, select the Routes / Tracks on left hand side menu.


Owh I see!!!................I am using Nuvi 205w. Does it support this feature?
:tq: 8-)

User avatar
dvpro
Moderator
Posts: 2170
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 6:09 am
Location: KUL, MY (Handheld, PDA Based)

Re: How to use Garmin Mapsource

Postby dvpro » Thu Dec 10, 2009 8:38 pm

hazz1925 wrote:Owh I see!!!................I am using Nuvi 205w. Does it support this feature?
:tq: 8-)

No. Nuvi series that support this feature are 5xx, 7xx, 8xx, 14xx, 16xx and 5000.
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.

hazz1925
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 6:14 pm
Location: Nuvi 205w

Re: How to use Garmin Mapsource

Postby hazz1925 » Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:15 pm

I have another question......
How to import tracks to MapSource from Garmin?

User avatar
zamad
Valued Contributor
Posts: 2265
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:50 am
Location: Shah Alam

Re: How to use Garmin Mapsource

Postby zamad » Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:18 pm

It's here in 'How to use Garmin Mapsource': viewtopic.php?f=28&t=791&start=0
mfm : magnificent free maps
Garmin nüvi 2575RLM v2.80, Garmin 60CSx v4.00, Garmin nüvi 205W(patched), Papago R5800 X8.5, Qstarz Q1000P (Datalogger)
Retired: GMXT Palm T|X, nuvifone A10 v5.0.77, Garmin-Asus G60 v2.43, GPSlim236 (Datalogger)

jskc3390
Contributor
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:01 pm
Location: nuvi 255w

Re: How to use Garmin Mapsource

Postby jskc3390 » Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:38 am

i having a problem my mapsource come out error massage (family_333)......even i uninstall all map also can solve the problem... :ko: :cry:

any where to clear the system/programe so that it could be run again?

User avatar
dvpro
Moderator
Posts: 2170
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2008 6:09 am
Location: KUL, MY (Handheld, PDA Based)

Re: How to use Garmin Mapsource

Postby dvpro » Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:42 am

jskc3390 wrote:i having a problem my mapsource come out error massage (family_333)......even i uninstall all map also can solve the problem... :ko: :cry:

any where to clear the system/programe so that it could be run again?

There is a few methods to resolve that problem, one of it is this one:
viewtopic.php?p=85967#p85967
dvpro wrote:Bro Muurali, download and run MapSetToolKit. First, select "Check Registry" and look for "RegName" with Error status, then select "Exit". Next, select "Mapset installed" items with Error status and select "Uninstall". That should remove offending mapset(s) and should enable Mapsource to run normally.
I take everything in moderation, including moderation.


Return to “Library”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest