nüvi 205

Discussions and information on Personal Navigation Device (PND) and hand-held GPS devices.

Moderators: Moderators, Regional Mappers

Forum rules
1. Be nice to each other and respect the moderators. Post in normal font size, color and weight. Follow Nettiquette
2. NO out of topic. Discuss about GPS device only
3. NO abuse, profanity and insults
4. NO spamming, cross posting and opening of duplicate topics
5. NO advertisement post or link
6. NO post/link to warez, cracks, serials or illegally obtained copyrighted content
7. Each message posted is owned by and is the opinion of the original poster. Neither mfm nor its owner or moderators are legally responsible for anything posted on the forum
User avatar
antyong (retired)
Site Admin (retired)
Posts: 1518
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 11:42 am
Location: Acquiring satellites....

Re: Nuvi 205

Postby antyong (retired) » Fri Oct 09, 2009 10:25 pm

ramsiyer wrote:Would I be able to load other maps like India map on a localized Nuvi 205 which has malaysia and singapore maps? When I bought malaysia and singapore maps were preloaded.

Yes

User avatar
matagas
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 8:07 pm
Location: Masjid Tanah

How To Convert to Singapore/Malaysia version

Postby matagas » Mon Oct 12, 2009 6:46 pm

My nuvi is 205 ( not Singapore/Malaysia version,)
Can I convert to Singapore/Malaysia version,
software version = 5.70
My gadjet Nuvi 255W and HTC HD,Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 and NEC versa s3300

User avatar
uncle wong
Regional Mapper
Posts: 888
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:57 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur - Selangor - Johor I did not have a GPS device
Contact:

Re: How To Convert to Singapore/Malaysia version

Postby uncle wong » Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:13 pm

matagas wrote:My nuvi is 205 ( not Singapore/Malaysia version,)
Can I convert to Singapore/Malaysia version,
software version = 5.70

Try before with RGN but failed to convert .
Enjoy the GPS’s life!

User avatar
saiza
Contributor
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 2:42 pm

Re: Nuvi 205

Postby saiza » Tue Oct 20, 2009 7:08 pm

guys, i need to confirm this, after upgrade to firmware my nuvi 205 mal/sing ver, cannot set to of road mode, so i cannot do tracking laa, anybody got this prob??

User avatar
silverbeauty
Moderator
Posts: 3525
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:29 pm
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra Garmin Nüvi1350, 3790T, Fenix, eTrex HcX Panasonic ICE+Garmin Samsung Note3 Apple iPad3

Re: Nuvi 205

Postby silverbeauty » Tue Oct 20, 2009 7:36 pm

saiza wrote:guys, i need to confirm this, after upgrade to firmware my nuvi 205 mal/sing ver, cannot set to of road mode, so i cannot do tracking laa, anybody got this prob??



The tracking capability is restricted to a certain version firmware, if you upgrade it you loose tracking capability.

User avatar
Zeus73
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 2:37 pm
Location: Yew Tee, Singapore

Re: Nuvi 205

Postby Zeus73 » Tue Oct 20, 2009 7:42 pm

silverbeauty wrote:
saiza wrote:guys, i need to confirm this, after upgrade to firmware my nuvi 205 mal/sing ver, cannot set to of road mode, so i cannot do tracking laa, anybody got this prob??

The tracking capability is restricted to a certain version firmware, if you upgrade it you loose tracking capability.

Still got this method. :thumbsup:

User avatar
johnTan
Valued Contributor
Posts: 417
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 5:36 pm
Location: PRK, JB, SG

Re: Nuvi 205

Postby johnTan » Tue Oct 20, 2009 7:48 pm

saiza wrote:guys, i need to confirm this, after upgrade to firmware my nuvi 205 mal/sing ver, cannot set to of road mode, so i cannot do tracking laa, anybody got this prob??


For what i know, previously this happen on Nuvi 255W SgMy firmware v2.60.
May I know now happen on Which Nuvi 205 SgMy firmware version ?
you may refer HERE where discuss abt Nuvi 255W cannot set "OFF Road".

User avatar
saiza
Contributor
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 2:42 pm

Re: Nuvi 205

Postby saiza » Tue Oct 20, 2009 8:49 pm

thanks guys, confirm its the firmware prob.... its ok coz i still got gmxt to do the tracking.. thanks for the advice and solution :thumbsup: :tq:

chiet
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 4:49 pm
Location: KL

Re: Nuvi 205

Postby chiet » Wed Oct 21, 2009 8:22 am

just wonder why cant find the city "Petaling Jaya" in the "near.."?

User avatar
silverbeauty
Moderator
Posts: 3525
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:29 pm
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra Garmin Nüvi1350, 3790T, Fenix, eTrex HcX Panasonic ICE+Garmin Samsung Note3 Apple iPad3

Re: Nuvi 205

Postby silverbeauty » Wed Oct 21, 2009 9:05 am

chiet wrote:just wonder why cant find the city "Petaling Jaya" in the "near.."?


It could be because PJ is not defined as a city but part of KL ?


Return to “GPS Devices”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests