Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Discussions and information on Personal Navigation Device (PND) and hand-held GPS devices.

Moderators: Moderators, Regional Mappers

Forum rules
1. Be nice to each other and respect the moderators. Post in normal font size, color and weight. Follow Nettiquette
2. NO out of topic. Discuss about GPS device only
3. NO abuse, profanity and insults
4. NO spamming, cross posting and opening of duplicate topics
5. NO advertisement post or link
6. NO post/link to warez, cracks, serials or illegally obtained copyrighted content
7. Each message posted is owned by and is the opinion of the original poster. Neither mfm nor its owner or moderators are legally responsible for anything posted on the forum
Immortal25
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:34 pm
Location: Penang, M'sia

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby Immortal25 » Thu Apr 05, 2012 6:50 pm

Really...but I remember having that problem that's why I started ranting about it. Anyway let me re-confirm and try it again. I'll update you guys. Thanks.

mcchin_81
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 4:31 pm

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby mcchin_81 » Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:04 pm

well i have a year plus nuvi 1450 which was bought in the US
Thought the hell with local gamin support, with the free maps around, i dont need them

tinkle around, some minor issues here and there, but overall, it is a fine machinery
sort of lost out with map updates from MFM but recent log in says that MFM have able to properly compile NT type maps, with JCV!!!!

download I go, and hehehe.....unlock it... :-'

but sadly, the map for 1350/1460 localised unit crash and shut off the unit whenever a JCV is to be shown.
Would I admit defeat ... NO!.
So off I go to "m0d" the unit to campatible, first is to 1350PH ones
but the JCV instead of pic, shows a notification that Garmin 2012.10 JCV is not compatible with the unit
so I do a 1460 version and walla, works like a charm....
(how to do it? shhh.... search around the net, you will get it soon enough)

some screenie of a 1450 (renewed)
Where To page have 3 new icon, the Exits , the Phonebook and the Travel Guide (yet to find uses for them)
Image

inside Exits
Image

The Display inside setting have a new button for Calibration :thumbsup:
Image

Dunno if there is any change to the Language setting
Image

Also a new button in Navigation, ERP Cost saving :ko:
Image

Inside ERP Cost saving
Image

One last New stuff is the POI withing the Map setting page
Image

which have this
Image
which is nice


So far I use it ~ a month ++
havent come to any crash/ error ...yet
Good stuff... good stuff indeed

Keep up the good job MFM

mcchin_81
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 4:31 pm

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby mcchin_81 » Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:28 pm

enuff gloating like an idiot

now my current grouse as with this firmware as well as the original one is that I keep seeing ppl says that by placing the map in the SD/map with different names, you can use/see them?
well my SD card/map look like this
Image

but inside Info in Map Setting page
Image


seems to not show there are two MFM maps

now my config is like this
1. Original US/Can map (1.4GB) named gmapprom.img is copied to my SD card misc folder
2. I have a MSM NT , which comes a gmapprom.img which refuse to work in SD card whether in Map folder or Garmin folder. Placing it in the unit Garmin .System folder works, including JCV
3. Then MFM NT version is placed in the SD card Garmin Folder with the JCV file in the JCV folder works, no problem there
4. There is a MSM free map in the SD crd map folder, which works
5. Then there is the two MFM (April and Mar version) in the SD/Map folder which in the unit will show only one of them. Same goes with multiple MSM maps

So now what i have to do is , whenever a newer map rev is out, I have to copy the old one to another (misc) folder before adding the new ones.

So even though that the map name is different, the unit cannot detect multiple rev of the same map maker as different maps?

Immortal25
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:34 pm
Location: Penang, M'sia

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby Immortal25 » Sat Apr 21, 2012 5:03 pm

Have you guys used the travel guide? Are there any free travel guides to get?

mcchin_81
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 4:31 pm

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby mcchin_81 » Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:50 pm

Immortal25 wrote:Have you guys used the travel guide? Are there any free travel guides to get?



here you go

http://www.garmin.com.sg/richpoi/

User avatar
silverbeauty
Moderator
Posts: 3525
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:29 pm
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra Garmin Nüvi1350, 3790T, Fenix, eTrex HcX Panasonic ICE+Garmin Samsung Note3 Apple iPad3

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby silverbeauty » Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:04 am

There are many more in Garmin Taiwan's website freely available for download

Link : http://www.garmin.com.tw/twlocal/

Immortal25
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:34 pm
Location: Penang, M'sia

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby Immortal25 » Sun Apr 22, 2012 5:44 pm

Thanks for the links :) They should have more for other countries too.

yanbros
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:39 am

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby yanbros » Sun May 20, 2012 8:18 am

Hi everyone,

i am currently using the 1460 with mfm maps in this unit. I downloaded some free maps for other countries. Although i see the title of the map in settings, map, info, how do i actually view the map on screen if i'm still in Singapore? I tried to import the maps to mapsource but it says no maps found on device.

Can someone help? :prayer: :prayer:

User avatar
silverbeauty
Moderator
Posts: 3525
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:29 pm
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra Garmin Nüvi1350, 3790T, Fenix, eTrex HcX Panasonic ICE+Garmin Samsung Note3 Apple iPad3

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby silverbeauty » Sun May 20, 2012 9:21 am

yanbros wrote:Hi everyone,

i am currently using the 1460 with mfm maps in this unit. I downloaded some free maps for other countries. Although i see the title of the map in settings, map, info, how do i actually view the map on screen if i'm still in Singapore? I tried to import the maps to mapsource but it says no maps found on device.

Can someone help? :prayer: :prayer:


First you must authenticate that the "free maps" that you found are Garmin compatible maps.
Go buy one or deveral SD card ( dependant on how many "free map" you have.
Create a directory/garmin in each SD card
Put in each SD card the map file name gmapsupp.img into it. ( You can also opt to transfer as needed into one SD card )

Unless the free map has a installer provided to install into Garmin Mapsource, you will need to do some work to create one.

Gmaptool is one software that can be used to install maps into mapsource.
Use our search for Gmaptool Q&A for tips on how to get and use it.

papaoscar
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:40 am

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby papaoscar » Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:52 pm

I own a China type Win Ce " 4 programs in 1" and a Nuvi 1460.
The MFM custom POIs ( traffic lights, schools, petrol stations etc ) are displayed on the Win CE GPS but not on the nuvi1460 although both are configured to dsiplay maximum poi.
The Nuvi1460 is upgraded to ver 3.10firmware and both updated weekly.
Any suggestions ?


Return to “GPS Devices”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests