Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Discussions and information on Personal Navigation Device (PND) and hand-held GPS devices.

Moderators: Moderators, Regional Mappers

Forum rules
1. Be nice to each other and respect the moderators. Post in normal font size, color and weight. Follow Nettiquette
2. NO out of topic. Discuss about GPS device only
3. NO abuse, profanity and insults
4. NO spamming, cross posting and opening of duplicate topics
5. NO advertisement post or link
6. NO post/link to warez, cracks, serials or illegally obtained copyrighted content
7. Each message posted is owned by and is the opinion of the original poster. Neither mfm nor its owner or moderators are legally responsible for anything posted on the forum
User avatar
silverbeauty
Moderator
Posts: 3524
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:29 pm
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra Garmin Nüvi1350, 3790T, Fenix, eTrex HcX Panasonic ICE+Garmin Samsung Note3 Apple iPad3

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby silverbeauty » Fri Oct 21, 2011 6:43 am

ghost85 wrote:I just bought a US set 1450 and attempted to install additional map on SD card, but it does not show up on Settings>Maps>Info.
Have already let the gps get a first signal lock on.

Tried every combination of folders and filename as below, and even tried change the case of the letters.
Please assist and let me know if I have done any step wrongly. Thank you.

SD Card\Garmin\gmapsupp.img
SD Card\Garmin\MFM.img
SD Card\Map\gmapsupp.img
SD Card\Map\MFM.img



Bro ghoe85,
:welcome: to MFM :welcome:

To your question putting MFM map file into 1st, 3rd or 4th option as your earlier post is correct

Either you have a corrupted map file, in this case re-download and regenerate a fresh map file via our installer or you may have a bad SD card / contact ( use another SD card )

In the later case, can your Nuvi read the SD card at all ?

ghost85
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:49 pm

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby ghost85 » Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:56 am

silverbeauty wrote:
ghost85 wrote:I just bought a US set 1450 and attempted to install additional map on SD card, but it does not show up on Settings>Maps>Info.
Have already let the gps get a first signal lock on.

Tried every combination of folders and filename as below, and even tried change the case of the letters.
Please assist and let me know if I have done any step wrongly. Thank you.

SD Card\Garmin\gmapsupp.img
SD Card\Garmin\MFM.img
SD Card\Map\gmapsupp.img
SD Card\Map\MFM.img



Bro ghoe85,
:welcome: to MFM :welcome:

To your question putting MFM map file into 1st, 3rd or 4th option as your earlier post is correct

I placed a jpg file in the root directory and JPEG directory, and it is unable to detect in the gps picture viewer. Is it supposed to detect jpg files?

Either you have a corrupted map file, in this case re-download and regenerate a fresh map file via our installer or you may have a bad SD card / contact ( use another SD card )

In the later case, can your Nuvi read the SD card at all ?



I went into diagnostic mode and in the test data card screen, it can detect the SD card. When connected to usb, it can detect both gps and SD card as mass storage device. So I do not think the SD card is faulty.

Does the SD card needs to be totally empty? Tried with a second card, but it has some other files besides the Map folder. I tried with multiple map files and it cannot detect a single one.

Edit: It is working now. Initial try with second SD card was formatted in NTFS. Formatted the card in FAT32 and maps show up. First SD card was faulty despite being detected. Thank you for the help!!

Immortal25
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:34 pm
Location: Penang, M'sia

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby Immortal25 » Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:29 pm

Ahh...so FAT32 was the answer.

myjpkl
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 10:46 am

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby myjpkl » Fri Nov 04, 2011 8:57 pm

I have a microsd card, i have no problem putting map in \map inside sd.
Now question is where do i put custom poi MFM-CPOIv208 that i download from this website to?

Immortal25
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:34 pm
Location: Penang, M'sia

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby Immortal25 » Mon Nov 07, 2011 6:01 pm

Create a POI folder under Garmin.

User avatar
cflai
Valued Contributor
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:42 am
Location: Seremban (NUVI760 GPSMAP60CSX DOPODU1000 NUVI265WT NUVI1460)

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby cflai » Mon Nov 14, 2011 9:02 am

Hi

Can any Sifus help? The touch screen on my 2 year old NUVI 1460 is kaput. Obviously it is out of warranty....

What would it cost me to repair/replace the screen?? If it is more than RM150 I think it may be cheaper to buy a new one....don't you think?

Thanks

User avatar
silverbeauty
Moderator
Posts: 3524
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:29 pm
Location: Sin-Ka-Pu-Ra Garmin Nüvi1350, 3790T, Fenix, eTrex HcX Panasonic ICE+Garmin Samsung Note3 Apple iPad3

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby silverbeauty » Mon Nov 14, 2011 4:16 pm

cflai wrote:Hi

Can any Sifus help? The touch screen on my 2 year old NUVI 1460 is kaput. Obviously it is out of warranty....

What would it cost me to repair/replace the screen?? If it is more than RM150 I think it may be cheaper to buy a new one....don't you think?

Thanks



If I am not wrong,the touch screen digitizer is about $20 USD. :-k Try google for sellers.

User avatar
cflai
Valued Contributor
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:42 am
Location: Seremban (NUVI760 GPSMAP60CSX DOPODU1000 NUVI265WT NUVI1460)

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby cflai » Mon Nov 14, 2011 4:24 pm

Thanks silverbeauty

Might be worth a try if it will cost me USD20..

User avatar
cflai
Valued Contributor
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:42 am
Location: Seremban (NUVI760 GPSMAP60CSX DOPODU1000 NUVI265WT NUVI1460)

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby cflai » Fri Nov 18, 2011 5:30 pm

Today I am very impressed with AECO Equipment Sdn Bhd's response to my query.

My NUVI1460 has not been working due to the touch screen being unable to function properly for a while. On the main screen, pressing the "TOOLS" button will activate the "VOLUME" function instead and I could not proceed further leaving the 1460 unusable.

I decided to call Aeco Equipment for a quote on its repair and when the call was connected, I was told to wait to speak to the technical section.

A lady picked up the phone and I explained my problem and that I wanted an estimate to replace the NUVI1460's touchscreen. The technician "Ms Soo" or Ms "Sue" told me to switch on the machine with my thumb on the top left hand corner of the screen and wait. Once re-booted, the calibration screen came on, I was then able to re-calibrate the unit and it worked all OK again!

Thank you, Ms Soo or Ms Sue, you saved me a trip to K.L. and saved me good money to "repair" the touch screen.... it is an honest effort to solve a customer's problem and save his money using your product!

Keep it up!!

myjpkl
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 10:46 am

Re: Garmin Nuvi 1450 / 1460

Postby myjpkl » Fri Feb 10, 2012 6:37 pm

Sorry, where is the guide to flash my 1450 US firmware to local firmware?


Return to “GPS Devices”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests